DLPP17 email header 590

December 2, 2019

Dear Readers,
I hope that those of you who attended one or more of the events that surrounded the DLPP Awards Weekend were inspired by the writers who spoke at area colleges and universities as well as at the Authors’ Reception, the Conversation with the Authors on Sunday morning, and the Awards Ceremony. The authors were amazed by Dayton and its readers and to a person remarked on what a warm reception by a well-read audience they received.

The DLPP team is already gearing up for next year, and as you consider your end-of-year giving, please consider supporting the DLPP. One of the most immediate ways to support is by donating to our Fly With the Doves Membership Drive. We will be providing class-sets of books to schools participating in the 2020 Author Series as well as helping schools that are initiating classes or projects involving DLPP winners to purchase books for those classes. Fly with the Doves is a rewarding project that helps advance peace through literature with the students who are our future.

The panel at the Authors’ Reception on November 2, the panel of the Conversation with the Authors on November 3, and the Awards Ceremony on November 3 are all available for viewing on our website. You might also find the Author Series Panel at Kettering Fairmont with David Wood and four young veterans of interest as well as the talk by Gilbert King to students at Tippecanoe High School. Both of those videos are also up on the website.

Have a wonderful holiday season and have time to read.

We will be back with more news in early 2020.


Sharon-sig chair 530x38

Support The Dayton Literary Peace Prize on Giving Tuesday

DLPP19 giving tuesday 1

How to Donate:

Use the link below to donate to the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Fly with the Doves Book Circle and learn more about this outreach program.

For every $25 donation to the Fly with the Doves Book Circle, you will provide one DLPP winning book to a school or library and receive one raffle entry.

Visit our website to donate

Raffle entries will run through December 9, 2019. The winners will be announced on December 13, 2019.


Books of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Book Club

For details about any of these events, please contact Carol Macmann.

DLPP19 DLM momaday

Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Lifetime Achievement Award

House Made of Dawn
by N. Scott Momaday
January 21, 6:00 pm

Wheat Penny

Saslo 200

Nonfiction Winner

Rising out of Hatred
by Eli Saslow
February 25, 6:00 pm
Lily's Bistro

Bonde 200

Fiction Winner

What we Owe
by Golnaz Hashemzadeh Bonde
March 24, 6:00 pm
Wheat Penny

wil haygood

Nonfiction Runner-up

by Wil Haygood
April 28, 6:00 pm
Carillon Tavern

Powers 200

Fiction Runner-up

The Overstory
by Richard S. Powers
May 26, 6:00 pm
Wheat Penny


Support the Dayton Literary Peace Prize when you shop with Amazon using this link.

Powered by Mad Mimi®A GoDaddy® company