



Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation Announces Finalists for 2025 Book Awards

Six Finalists Named in Both the Fiction & Nonfiction Categories 20th Anniversary Celebration and Events

Dayton, OH (July 14, 2025) — For two decades the <u>Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation</u> has elevated the power of the written word to foster understanding, reconciliation, empathy, and peace. The foundation's work has invited readers to step into lives and experiences vastly different from their own. By celebrating the work of authors who promote dialogue, tolerance, and healing, the prize has helped shape a narrative that values compassion and human dignity. This milestone anniversary is an opportunity to reflect on the legacy and impact the organization has had on both readers and its honored writers. The DLPP not only honors the significant achievement 20 years marks but also reinvigorates its commitment to peace through literature for decades to come.

"Over the twenty years of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, the foundation has honored, celebrated, and forged deep relationships with dozens of authors we now call friends. Authors who deeply understand the value and mission of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize and stay engaged with us long after they win the award. When authors come to Dayton they step into a literary community they don't soon forget and we are grateful to them for opening their hearts and minds to join us here in Ohio. As we move into the third decade of the Literary Peace Prize, we look forward to expanding our role on the global literary stage," said Nicholas Raines, Executive Director of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize. Foundation.

Inspired by the Dayton Peace Accords that ended the Bosnia War in 1995, the annual Dayton Literary Peace Prize, the first and only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States, honors writers whose work demonstrates the power of the written word to foster peace. The winners each receive a \$10,000 cash prize, and the first runners-up receive a \$5,000 cash prize. The finalists for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for publishing year 2024 are:

Nonfiction finalists:

- <u>The Burning Earth</u>: An Environmental History of the Last 500 Years by Sunil Amrith (W.W. Norton & Co.)
- *John Lewis*: A Life by David Greenberg (Simon & Schuster)
- <u>Solidarity</u>: The Past, Present, and Future of a World-Changing Idea by Leah Hunt-Hendrix and Astra Taylor (Pantheon)
- Nuclear War: A Scenario by Annie Jacobsen (Dutton)





- <u>A Map of Future Ruins</u>: On Borders and Belonging by Lauren Markham (Riverhead)
- <u>The Home I Worked to Make</u>: Voices from the New Syrian Diaspora by Wendy Pearlman (Liveright)

Fiction finalists:

- <u>Black Butterflies</u>: A Novel by Priscilla Morris (Knopf)
- <u>James</u> by Percival Everett (Doubleday)
- Martyr!: A Novel by Kaveh Akbar (Knopf)
- <u>Freedom Is a Feast</u>: A Novel by Alejandro Puyana (Little, Brown and Co.)
- <u>The Women</u>: A Novel by Kristin Hannah (St. Martin's Press)
- <u>The Good Deed</u>: A Novel by Helen Benedict (Red Hen Press)

Over the last three years, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation has been intentional about positioning for strategic and meaningful growth. From expanding and developing the board of trustees to crafting and implementing the organizations first long-term strategic plan to presenting DLPP authors and conversations at venues in major metro areas outside of Dayton, the prize is growing and expanding its influence through the international literary world. We continue to look towards the future with purpose and ambition. This 20th anniversary marks a new beginning—one filled with promise, innovation, creativity, and our enduring belief in the power of words to inspire a more peaceful world.

Winners and finalists of the 2025 Dayton Literary Peace Prize and the Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award will be announced in September. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation will honor the winners and first runners-up at an awards ceremony in Dayton, Ohio, the weekend of November 8-9, 2025.

This summer, DLPP will partner with Bryant Park Partnership's Reading Room on Wednesday, August 26th, to feature 2024 honoree Victor Luckerson for his Dayton Literary Peace Prize winning book *Built from the Fire*, and on Thursday, September 11th, the Brooklyn Public Library's Center for Brooklyn History will host an evening with Honorée Fannone Jeffers, fiction winner for *The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois*, Gilbert King nonfiction runner-up for *Devil in the Grove*, and Victor Luckerson.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of the written word to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it is recognized as one of the world's most prestigious literary honors and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a \$10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict and





leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view.

Additionally, the Ambassador Richard C. Holbrooke Distinguished Achievement Award is bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission. Previous honorees include Margaret Atwood, Wendell Berry, Taylor Branch, Geraldine Brooks, Sandra Cisneros, Wil Haygood, Louise Erdrich, John Irving, Barbara Kingsolver, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, N. Scott Momaday, Tim O'Brien, Marilynne Robinson, Gloria Steinem, Studs Terkel, Colm Tóibín, and Elie Wiesel.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation

The Foundation offers programming to high schools, colleges & universities, and libraries, including its Student Author Series, Community Conversations with the Ohio Public Library Network, among others. A primarily volunteer organization since its conception, the DLPP Foundation depends on donations from individuals, corporations, universities and local government to sustain its efforts. Learn more about how you can get involved via the DLPP website.

Media contact

Sarah Russo Page One Media sarah@page1m.com