Visit Our Website Award History Award Winners Outreach Press Room

Patrick Kowalczyk, [email protected]
Jenny Chang, [email protected]
PKPR, 212.627.8098



Winners to be honored at gala Dayton ceremony on November 7th

Dayton, OH (September 1, 2010) – Celebrating the power of literature to promote peace, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation today announced the twelve finalists for the 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize in fiction and nonfiction.

Inspired by the 1995 Dayton Peace Accords that ended the war in Bosnia, The Dayton Literary Peace Prize is the only international literary peace prize awarded in the United States. The Prize celebrates the power of literature to promote peace, nonviolent conflict resolution, and global understanding.

The shortlist includes works by best-selling authors (Zeitoun by Dave Eggers, Stones Into Schoools by Greg Mortenson), first-time novelists (The Calligrapher's Daughter by Eugenia Kim), and Booker Prize-winning authors (The Education of a British-Protected Child by Chinua Achebe)

The 2010 finalists also explore a diverse range of challenging issues ranging from cultural dislocation (A Good Fall by Ha Jin) to famine (Enough: Why the World’s Poor Starve in an Age of Plenty by Roger Thurow and Scott Kilman) to the impact of war crimes and mass murder (Tears in the Darkness by Michael and Elizabeth Norman, A Postcard from the Volcano by Lucy Beckett) and are set in locations around the world, including Nigeria (The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Adiche), Jamaica (The Book of Night Women by Marlon James), Kashmir (In the Valley of Mist by Justine Hardy), and Ethiopia (Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese).

The full list of finalists can be found below and at:

A winner and runner-up in fiction and nonfiction will be announced on September 22nd. Winners receive a $10,000 honorarium and runners-up receive $1,000.00. They will be honored at a gala ceremony hosted by award-winning journalist Nick Clooney in Dayton on Sunday, November 7th.

The committee previously announced that historical novelist Geraldine Brooks (March, Year of Wonders, People of the Book) will be the recipient of the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award, a distinction she shares with Studs Terkel (2006), Elie Wiesel (2007), Taylor Branch (2008), and Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn (2009).

"This year’s finalists help readers to see pressing global issues through the eyes of individuals whose lives are immediately affected by the larger forces around them," said Sharon Rab, chair of the Dayton Literary Peace Prize Foundation. “While challenging us to confront difficult and painful truths, each work, in its own way, is ultimately hopeful, offering the reader powerful insight into the resilience of the human spirit.”

The 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize fiction finalists are:

The 2010 nonfiction finalists are:

Finalists will be reviewed by a panel of prominent writers including Ken McClane, Cullen Murphy, Katherine Vaz, and Nancy Zafris.

To be eligible for the 2010 awards, English-language books must be published or translated into English in 2009 and address the theme of peace on a variety of levels, such as between individuals, among families and communities, or among nations, religions, or ethnic groups.

About the Dayton Literary Peace Prize

Click here to visit our website The Dayton Literary Peace Prize honors writers whose work uses the power of literature to foster peace, social justice, and global understanding. Launched in 2006, it has already established itself as one of the world’s most prestigious literary honors, and is the only literary peace prize awarded in the United States. As an offshoot of the Dayton Peace Prize, the Dayton Literary Peace Prize awards a $10,000 cash prize each year to one fiction and one nonfiction author whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view. An annual lifetime achievement award is also bestowed upon a writer whose body of work reflects the Prize's mission; previous honorees include Studs Terkel, Elie Wiesel, Taylor Branch, Nicholas Kristof, and Sheryl WuDunn.

Press release in PDF format.

# # #

Promoting Peace and Literacy Around the World

Dayton Literary Peace Prize, P. O. Box 461, Wright Brothers Branch, Dayton, OH 45409-0461
Tel: (937) 298-5072   ::   Email: [email protected]
Designed by Digital Stationery International, LLC